JointHealth™ express   November 29, 2019

The 2019 Qualman-Davies Arthritis Consumer Community Leadership Award goes to Anne Lyddiatt!

The award was presented to Anne at the Arthritis Alliance of Canada’s Annual Meeting in Toronto on November 29, 2019.

Anne Lyddiatt (bottom row centre) with other members of the arthritis community at the Arthritis Alliance of Canada's Annual Meeting

The Qualman-Davies Arthritis Consumer Community Leadership Award was created in 2014 to recognize one person’s contributions to helping Canadians living with the disease to be heard in decision-making processes that affect millions. That’s what Ann Qualman and Jim Davies did as early pioneers in arthritis advocacy in Canada. Their tireless and selfless efforts helped millions of Canadians. Congratulations, Anne!

About this year's winner

Anne Lyddiatt has been an active member of the arthritis community for well over 20 years having been diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis over 30 years ago. Anne was a nurse by training and worked primarily in the areas of administration, education and community health. Her arthritis diagnosis forced her to leave the work force but once her disease was under control, she became active in volunteer activities.

She has been a member of Patient Partners in Arthritis for more than 20 years and is currently the National Trainer with the program. In Patient Partners in Arthritis, she trains volunteer patients to demonstrate a standardized musculoskeletal examination to lead educational sessions with medical students, residents and health care professionals within the medical school curriculum and CME (continuing medical education) events. Anne was a core faculty member of the Getting a Grip Program.

Anne is one of the founding members of the Canadian Arthritis Patient Alliance. She has been an active and avid advocate and canvasser for the Arthritis Society, and co-chaired the Joint Effort Conference in Markham in 2005. Anne lead the ASMP Program in London, Ontario for many years.

Anne was involved with the Ontario Best Practices Research Initiative (formerly the Ontario Biologics Research Initiative) since its inception and was instrumental in helping them develop the protocol and early research platform. She also served for a number of years on the Patient Advisory Committee.

Anne has recently retired from the steering committee of CIHR’s National Strategy for Patient Oriented Research (SPOR). She serves as Chair of the Ontario SPOR Unit’s Patient Partner Advisory Group. She also recently finished her tenure as the Chair of the Patient Executive of Cochrane and a consumer representative on the Cochrane Collaboration Steering Group. During her time at Cochrane, she has completed over 100 reviews for the MSK Editorial group alone. Anne was also a research ambassador for the Institute of Musculoskeletal Health and Arthritis (IMHA).

Anne currently sits as a consumer representative on the Bone and Joint Institute’s Governing Board at Western University and is still an active Patient Research Partner of OMERACT serving on many of the working groups.

Through her various work in groups and boards, she has helped and continues to help in the development of self-management guidelines and tools for chronic disease management, at both the patient and professional level. For her contributions to the Arthritis Society and the arthritis community at large, Anne was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal in 2002 and the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012.